This week on the show:

Introductions

  • This week in the arena!
    • Joe got to his new high! of 4311!!
      • Huge thank you to Marcel_p
    • Rob needs to hit level 11!
      • New High for Rob: 4243
  • Let’s discuss the value of the archer tower
  • Rob got the log!!

News & Clan Updates

  • Let’s address the 800 pound gorilla and pink elephant in the room
  • CLASH ROYALE SHOUTOUT!! Thank you!!!!
    • That went from 0 to 100 real quick
    • Let’s talk the specifics of Clash Royale’s impact on our show
  • We’ve got a 5th clan!
  • Discord.. and our bot (or two)!
  • Twitter progress, and continued rebranding
    • We’ve got 500 followers!
    • Still not verified.. but that’s okay!
  • Anniversary episode is up-and-coming!

Topics

  • Radio Royale (Official Podcast of Clash Royale)
    • Cards we Killed (Mega Pekka, Ghost, Barbarian Launcher, Trojan Pony!!)
  • Let’s talk about the Goblin Gang!
    • Did you see OJ’s video?
    • Skeleton Army vs. Goblin Gang
  • Rob played the Draft Challenge!!!! AND – he loved it!!
  • Should they have a game mode that’s 2v2?
  • Clash Nights
  • Dev Q&A’s

Chest Openings

Round Robin (Crown, Clans, and then… The Big Dogs!!)

  1. Rob
  2. Joe

Deck Spotlight (00:40:28)

Marcel_p (2.6 AEC)

Cards: Hog Rider, Ice golem, Skeletons, Ice Spirit, Cannon, Fireball, Log, Musketeer

Decksplanation: At it’s core, this deck is a hog cycle deck. It’s super quick, since the average cost is only 2.6. There are four cards that cost two or less elixir, which really allow you to 1) cycle to your hog, and 2) defend quickly to cycle back to your hog. Since the deck is so cheap, you’re going to wind up pushing your hog with weak troops (i.e., the ice spirit, ice golem, or skeletons). This will cause you to lose elixir trades when your opponent counters it with their “hard” hog counter; however, the key is that when the opponent counter pushes, you can use your low cost troops/buildings on the defensive side to gain the elixir advantage back. Do not underestimate the power and damage that the archer tower has on the defensive end.

So to summarize, you lose elixir when you push, and you gain elixir when you defend. However, the cool thing is that because the deck is inherently so cheap, you will have the ability to cycle back to your hog rider push, BEFORE they will be able to cycle back to their “hard” hog counter. This leaves them with a “soft” hog counter to throw down, which usually can be taken out by fireball or log (or at least displace troops so that your hog can get some hits in on the tower).

You really should not play this deck slow. If you do, you’re losing the advantage that this deck has to offer. During the first two minutes of the game, when elixir generation is normal – you have the advantage and can cycle with the hog faster than your opponent can; however, when double elixir kicks in, this really isn’t the case anymore. So your opponent can now have the “hard” hog answer more often. That’s not a problem though – you can still utilize the Fireball/Log combo multiple times to end the game. However, you will need to make sure you’re getting value out of the fireball/log and damage troops/buildings while hitting the tower. Remember – just like you can cycle to the hog, you can ALSO cycle to the fireball/log combo. Just drop the skeletons, ice spirit, ice golem, and you’re right back to the spells!! So much damage, in such a short period of time.

Just remember one thing – when in doubt, PUSH THE HOG!!!

Reviews (20)

Fantastic Podcast! by Sphinxatle, Australia 

Just found this podcast and can’t get enough. Really informative and funny way of staying current with the game and feeling part of a community. I lead a full 50 member clan and have started promoting this to my clan mates. Keep up the great work gentlemen! Sphinxatle

Amazing Podcast by Tim Glaser, Canada   

I recently started to listen to the podcast, that I found on Clash Royale. I love the information that is brought to the show, and both Rob and Joe have great voices! I look forward to the next podcast, these guys are great!

The best Clash Royale podcast by far! by Petey-SD, United States   

This podcast is informative, helpful, and a lot of fun. Rob and Joe continue to impress me with the quality of their cast, and their insightful analysis of Clash Royale’s constantly changing meta. Their enthusiasm for the game is infectious, and I always want to jump in and play a few games of CR after listening. Also, they do all this while keeping the podcast and the surrounding community family-friendly, which I really appreciate. If you’re not listening to the Boom Brothers yet, what are you waiting for?? BOOM!

Thx for deck ??????????????? by BASEBALL!!!!!!!!!!, Canada

Hello Joe and Rob thank you for the deck took me to 2300 ???????? until next time Boooooom Btw more emojis for Rob ?????????????????????????????☹️??

Love it! by ReillyTBB, United States

I just absolutely love your podcasts it’s like when ever I listen I just forget all my problems and if I’m playing a game that makes me rage I just listen to the podcast and I calm down so thx I just love the podcasts

Love the podcast by Patrick_Doran, United States

Been listening for awhile now and love the podcast. I have been progressing at about the same pace as you guys and it’s really cool to hear how your perspectives change as you get higher in the ladder. Saw supercell posted the cast in royale news which is awesome. Look forward to more in the future!

HOOOOOOOOG RIGHTAAAAAAAAA by Murre459, Sweden

DUDES, I love you. Such excitement much wow and I love your excitement and energy AND your soothing voices. And don’t forget to have fun and BOOOOOOOOOM

Nice job!! by DarthNoodlt, United States

You guys are great!! I love how relatable and informative it all is! Getting to hear the perspective of a fellow casual player. Hope to get to 3k+ soon! I’m currently at 2700s. Perhaps I can pick up a few skills from listening!

Great way to keep up to date with clash news by Spen6, United Kingdom

Hey guys I’ve been recently really enjoying the podcasts and I have a great deck to share with you, it’s a hog cycle at origin but with a twist. My deck: Hog, Musketeer, Skeleton army, Ice Golem, Ice spirit, The Log, Zap, and Elite Barbarians. The main principle is to (obviously) cycle through to your hog with either an ice spirit behind with enough elixir to also zap anything necessary, or ice golem in front with the hog behind. I use elite barbarians to defend tanky cards and I use Skelton army the the same principle. My musketeer is my go to defence as it can deal with anything with the help of the log/zap. I’ve used the deck for 2 months now and got me too 3200 to 4284 trophies. Once again I love your podcast and enjoy using my deck:) From Spencer, United Kingdom

Fun way to keep up with clash news! by Spencerh779, United Kingdom

Hey guys I’ve been recently really enjoying the podcasts and I have a great deck to share with you, it’s a hog cycle at origin but with a twist. My deck: Hog, Musketeer, Skeleton army, Ice Golem, Ice spirit, The Log, Zap, and Elite Barbarians. The main principle is to (obviously) cycle through to your hog with either an ice spirit behind with enough elixir to also zap anything necessary, or ice golem in front with the hog behind. I use elite barbarians to defend tanky cards and I use Skelton army the the same principle. My musketeer is my go to defence as it can deal with anything with the help of the log/zap. I’ve used the deck for 2 months now and got me too 3200 to 4284 trophies. Once again I love your podcast and enjoy using my deck:) From Spencer, United Kingdom

You guys are amazing by Johannes kongen, Norway

I love the show ? i just startet listening to the show. ??? do you guys have any decks 3890? (don’t have spark grave inferno) The show is awesome and informative. Noe i got sone emojis for y ?????????

Commute Joy and Discord by Dr. Steve Brule (Phil), United States

Hi Guys, Recently wrote to you on twitter. Just wanted to say your podcast made my flight from Tampa to NJ real good! Enjoyed listening to you guys discuss card changes and how you felt about them. Great to hear about the 3800 trophy struggle! Tough being on the bubble! Keep it up boys!

Great job guys! by Juancarlosbatista, United States

Nice podcast! I’m a 4K player that is currently on the Orange Juice RPL team, and I am very entertained by your podcasts! Btw, you were featured on the in game clash royale news button. (If you didn’t know already) I love the chest openings, maybe you guys should start saving up big chests for a couple weeks and do a podcast with a huge chest opening part. (I currently have a SMC, Legendary Chest, and giant chest) I’m not really a fan of the deck spotlight, because it’s kind of hard to understand the deck without a visual. Anyways, great podcasts and keep up the good work!

Great Podcast (Also Have A Deck For You) by Guy377, United States

Just started listening and I love it!!! Also have a deck. It might be called THE RAM(or I don’t know you should name it?) So the cards are the battle ram the goblin barrel minion horde the skarmy the furnace mini pekka the fireball and the log. It got me to jungle but recently went down. Excited for the next episode. Congrats on getting followed by supercell. BOOM?????

Awesome job me amigos by Sci-Fi 1006049, United States

Great job on the show, you guys are awesome and I like listening to you talk about everything with a smile. I have found a great lava hound deck that is so boss even in legendary arena. It consists of….. Lava Hound, Princess, Baby Dragon, Inferno Dragon, Skeleton Army, Minions, Elixir Collector, and The Log!!!!!! It’s main push is Lava Hound, Baby Dragon, Princess, and Elixir Collector. It has great defensive cards as well, thanks for your podcasts! Please keep doing them, and ENJOY THE DECK!!!!!!!!

Awesome by Bensleyjoe 12, Canada

Love the comedy and all the tips great podcast guy??

The best! by ⭐️Hopsin_CR_YT, United States

They are the best I listen to them when I play CR! They are funny and give good tips give them 5 STARS!

Awesome job?? by PianoGlint, United States

This podcast really helps me play and learn what’s coming out in the game. They have a great sense of humor and my favorite part is the “Bloopers” at the beginning of the show. After about 2 mounts of listening I’ve decided to write a review. If you could try a deck u made and got to legendary arena with it the Dark P.E.K.K.A it has the skeleton army, zap, ice spirit, executioner, P.E.K.K.A (not the mini), fireball, dark knight, and minions. (Hint: 2 the epics and be played together in any way.)

Amazing Podcast!!! by PoochieMoo, United States

This podcast is amazing. It really helps me out, and is a lot of fun to listen to!!!! I love this podcast so much and am hooked after 2 episodes!!! I actually need a deck, if you can help me out. I’m in arena five without poison, and I need a mix of offense and defense. Keep up the amazing work!!! I love it!?

Best podcast ever!!! by Natriks, Sweden

Hi Joe and Rob! This is the best podcast I have ever listened to. Absolutely love it, BOOM!!! PS. I have a cllan called Bearded Dragons that currently doesen’t have that many members so if anyone is looking for a clan and can’t get in to the cast royale clans, feel free to join Bearded Dragons. / Natriks (Jonathan from Sweden)

Patreon

A huge shout out to this weeks newest patron!!!

None this week 😦

Learn more about supporting us | http://www.castroyalepodcast.com/patreon

PayPal

If you would like to help sponsor or contribute towards a Cast Royale Tourney please use the PayPal button below.

[paypal_donation_button]

Resources

Leave us a review on iTunes and we will read it on the show!

Join our discussion on DISCORDwww.castroyalepodcast.com/discord password: legendary

Help tailor the show by taking our Community Surveyhttps://www.surveymonkey.com/r/WRJGG9P

Check out our new YouTube channelhttp://youtube.com/castroyalepodcast

Connect with us: www.castroyalepodcast.com | feedback@castroyalepodcast.com | @podcastroyale


Subscribe

Apple iTunes and the Apple iTunes logo are trademarks of Apple Inc.

Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google Inc.

This content is not affiliated with, endorsed, sponsored, or specifically approved by Supercell and Supercell is not responsible for it. For more information see Supercell’s Fan Content Policy: www.supercell.com/fan-content-policy.